Food Allergy Alternate Names and Hidden Foods

Egg

Egg-allergic individuals should AVOID foods that contain any of these ingredients:
Albumin
Egg (white, yolk, dried, lecithin, powdered, solids)
Egg substitutes
Eggnog
Egg noodles
Globulin
Lysozyme (used in Europe)
Mayonnaise
Meringue
Ovalbumin
Ovovitellin
Surimi

Egg is sometimes found in the following:
baked goods, egg substitutes, lecithin, macaroni, marzipan, marshmallows, nougat, pasta

Avoid eggs from duck, turkey, goose, quail, etc. These may be cross-reactive with chicken egg.

 

Milk

Milk-allergic individuals should AVOID foods that contain any of these ingredients:
Artificial butter flavor, butter fat, butter oil
Butter
Casein and caseinates (in all forms)
Cheese (all types)
Cheese flavor
Cream
Curds
Custard
Diacetyl
Ghee
Half-and-half
Hydrolysates (casein, milk protein, protein, whey, whey protein)
Ice cream
Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate, lactoglobulin, lactoferrin, lactulose
Milk (all forms including condensed, derivative, dry, evaporated, goat’s milk and milk from other animals, lowfat, malted, milkfat, nonfat, powder, protein, skimmed, solids, whole)
Milk protein hydrolysate
Nougat
Pudding
Rennet, rennet casein
Recaldent™ (used in teeth-whitening chewing gums)
Simpless®
Sour milk solids
Tagatose
Whey (in all forms)
Yogurt

Foods that often contain milk:
Milk may be found in many products such as many margarines, breads, cookies, cakes, chewing gum, chocolates, caramels, cold cuts, crackers, cereals, non-dairy products, processed and canned meats (such as non-fat dry milk in water packed tuna) and frozen and refrigerated soy products.

The milk protein in yogurt and cheese is the same as cow’s milk protein, and these foods should be avoided.

Sheep, goat, and mare’s milk are NOT safe for those with cow’s milk allergy.

Peanut

Peanut-allergic individuals should AVOID foods that contain any of these ingredients:
artificial nuts
beer nuts
cold pressed, expeller pressed, or extruded peanut oil
goobers
ground nuts
mixed nuts
monkey nuts
nut pieces
nut meat
peanut butter
peanut flour
peanut protein hydrolysate

Peanut is sometimes found in the following:
African, Asian (especially Chinese, Indian, Indonesian, Thai, and Vietnamese), and Mexican dishes
baked goods (e.g., pastries, cookies)
candy (including chocolate candy)
chili
egg rolls
enchilada sauce
marzipan
mole sauce
nougat

Lupine or lupin is a legume that may cause an allergic reaction in those with peanut allergy. Lupine can be found in many gluten free, high protein and other specialty products. In many European countries, lupine flour and/or peanut flour may be mixed with wheat flour in baked goods.

Many tree nuts (such as pecans, walnuts, almonds, etc.) are processed with peanuts and therefore may contain trace amounts of peanut protein.  Many peanut-allergic patients are advised to avoid tree nuts, as well.

 

Tree Nuts

Tree nut-allergic individuals should AVOID foods that contain any of these ingredients:
almond
artificial nuts
beechnut
Brazil nut
butternut
cashew
chestnut
chinquapin nut
filbert/hazelnut
gianduja (a chocolate-nut mixture)
ginkgo nut
hickory nut
litchi/lichee/lychee nut
macadamia nut
marzipan/almond paste
Nangai nut
natural nut extract (e.g., almond, walnut)
nut butters (e.g., cashew butter)
nut meal
nut meat
nut paste (e.g., almond paste)
nut pieces
pecan
pesto
pili nut
pine nut (also referred to as Indian, pignoli, pigñolia, pignon, piñon, and pinyon nut)
pistachio
praline
shea nut
walnut

Tree nuts are sometimes found in the following:
black walnut hull extract (flavoring), natural nut extract, nut distillates/alcoholic extracts, nut oils (e.g., walnut oil, almond oil), walnut hull extract (flavoring)

Tree nuts may be found in cereals, crackers, cookies, candy, chocolates, energy bars, flavored coffee, frozen desserts, marinades, barbeque sauces and some cold cuts such as Mortadella.

Tree nut protein will be found in foods such as Gianduja (a creamy mixture of chocolate and chopped almonds and hazelnuts although other nuts may be used), Marzipan (almond paste), Nougat, Nu-Nuts® artificial nuts, Nutella®, pesto, and nut meal.

 

Wheat

Wheat-allergic individuals should AVOID foods that contain any of these ingredients:
bread crumbs
bulgur
cereal extract
club wheat
couscous
cracker meal
durum
einkorn
emmer
farina
flour (all purpose, bread, cake, durum, enriched, graham, high gluten, high protein, instant, pastry, self-rising, soft wheat, steel ground, stone ground, whole wheat)
hydrolyzed wheat protein
Kamut®
matzoh, matzoh meal (also spelled as matzo, matzah, or matza)
pasta
seitan
semolina
spelt
sprouted wheat
triticale
vital wheat gluten
wheat (bran, durum, germ, gluten, grass, malt, sprouts, starch)
wheat bran hydrolysate
wheat germ oil
wheat grass
wheat protein isolate
whole wheat berries

Foods that often contain wheat:
Wheat may be found in ale, baking mixes, baked products, batter-fried foods, beer, breaded foods, breakfast cereals, candy, crackers, frankfurters and processed meats, glucose syrup, ice cream products, salad dressings, sauces, soups, soy sauce, starch, and surimi.

 

Soy

Avoid foods that contain any of these ingredients:
Edamame
Miso
Natto
Shoyo sauce
Soy (fiber, flour, grits, nuts, sprouts)
Soy (milk, yogurt, ice cream, cheese)
Soy protein (concentrate, hydrolyzed, isolate)
Soy sauce
Tamari
Tempeh
Textured vegetable protein (TVP)
Tofu (soybean curd)

Foods that often contain soy:
Soy may be found in numerous products such as baking mixes, breads, cookies, crackers, canned broth and soups, canned tuna and meat, breakfast cereals, high protein energy bars and snacks, low fat peanut butters and processed meat and frankfurters.

 

Shellfish

Avoid foods that contain shellfish or any of these ingredients:
barnacle
crab
crawfish (crawdad, crayfish, ecrevisse)
krill
lobster (langouste, langoustine, Moreton bay bugs, scampi, tomalley)
prawns
shrimp (crevette, scampi)

Shellfish is sometimes found in the following:
bouillabaisse, cuttlefish ink, fish stock, glucosamine, seafood flavoring (e.g., crab or clam extract), surimi

 

Some information has been adapted from FARE without requesting permission.